4:13

I was rushing out of the WalMart when I saw a little girl shopping with her mom for their necessities. I checked the time and it was 4:13 in the afternoon. As I went out of the store, I was welcomed by the pouring outside, the kind of rain that gushes over the top of rain gutters, so much in a hurry to hit the earth it has no time to flow down the spout.

A little voice so sweet broke down the hypnotic trance we were all caught in. It was the little girl I saw earlier with a beautiful red hair, freckle faced, an image of innocence.

“Mom, let’s run through the rain,” she said.

“What?”, her Mom asked.

“Let’s run through the rain!”, the little girl insisted.

“No Katie. We”ll wait until it slows down a bit.”

This young child waited a minute and repeated.

Mom, let’s run through the rain.”

“We’ll get soaked if we do,” her mom uttered.

“No, we won’t Mom. That’s not what you said this morning.” The young girl said as she tugged at her Mom’s arm.

“This morning? When did I say we could run through the rain and not get wet?”

“Don’t you remember? When you were talking to Daddy about his cancer, you said ‘If God can get us through this, He can get us through anything.’

The entire crowd stopped dead silent. I swear I could hardly hear anything but the rain. We all stood silently. No one left. Her mom paused and thought for a moment  about what she would say. Now, some would laugh it off and scold her for being silly. Some might even ignore what was said. However, this was a moment of affirmation in a young child’s life. A time when innocent trust can be nurtured so that it will blossom into faith. Then she broke the silence.

“Honey, you are absolutely right. Let’s run through the rain. If God let us get wet, well maybe we just need washing,” Mom said.

Then, off they ran.

As I watched them running, my phone suddenly rang.

“Doctor Sandoval, you are needed in the hospital. There’s an emergency!”

“Alright, I’ll be there.”

I drove the car as fast I could then I saw in my peripheral vision the mother and the daughter that I saw in WalMart.

I could hardly explain but I think what I saw is a total opposite of the happiness they show when they were running in the rain.

I arrived in the hospital and I saw a man rushed through the Emergency room. I changed my attire and was ready for the operation. As I headed through the Emergency Room, I heard a woman’s voice asking the people in the information desk.

“Where is my husband?”the woman asked with sense of urgency .

“Who are you looking for?”

“Mr. Ferrer”, the woman exclaimed.

Upon hearing those words, I walked towards them and I was surprised when I saw their faces. They were again, the mother and the child that I saw in the WalMart. It was the little girl who approached me and she said..

‘Oh, it’s you again.”

I was shocked because I didn’t know that she recognized me.

“Hey little girl, what are you doing here?”

“My father was rushed here in the hospital. Please Doctor, cure my father. I will give you five candies so please, cure him.”

“Okay, sweetie. I’ll do my best to cure your father.”

While I was doing the operation, I remember what the little girl said to her mother this morning, ‘If God can get us through this, He can get us through anything.’ Her words keep on playing in my mind. I don’t want to disappoint her and lose her faith.

***

It was already 4:13 am and the operation was successfully done.

The patient was transferred to Room 413.

 I roam around and the operation went to the patient’s room. There, I saw the child smiling sweetly. She noticed my presence and ran towards me. She asked me to open my hands. I was surprised when she put 5 candies on my hand.

I could not contain the happiness that blossomed in my heart.

I looked outside the window and saw the rain pouring hard.

“Thank you for fulfilling your promise. Now, I realized that God do not break his promises”

Then, I realized God created the rain to wash away the dirt just like how faith lessens the burden.

I was about to leave the room when my eyes caught the quotation on the door.

bible_verse_i_can_do_all_things_through_christ_poster-re4fdc1f320fd44408052d579cfed2a4b_wvw_8byvr_324

Originally made by: Kenyrose/Rina/Cheryl/Honnie/RL

screenshot-2016-09-09-at-4-13-17-pm

2 thoughts on “4:13

Leave a Reply

